Library books go travelling too!

I recently went on a holiday to Cambodia and I spent a lot of time visiting historic sites and delving into the history of their kingdom.

During the hotter points of the day I found myself eating lunch and having extended siestas, where I got a lot of reading done. One book I began working through on my holiday is Orphans of the living : growing up in ‘care’ in 20th century Australia by Joanna Penglase. It was one thing to read about the experiences of people in Australia growing up in orphanages or care homes but another thing entirely to visit an orphanage on the outskirts of Phnom Penh and experience the reality of growing up in ‘care’ in a developing country.

So many similarities can be seen in the history of different countries and cultures, sometimes you just need to dig a little under the surface to draw the comparisons!

After looking at one of the photographs I took in Kuala Lumpur I got to thinking – how far do our library books travel? I think some books may have been to more destinations than we can imagine! Where have you taken a library book while holidaying?

And yes…I am one of those people who like to eat a lot when I go adventuring…

Leave a Reply

